3D Scanner Part 1 – Hardware

This afternoon I decided to start work on the hardware side of a 3D scanner project I wrote the software for a while ago.

Here are a few things i learnt while making this:

  • Woodwork is awesome and I want to start doing more.
  • I’m not very good at woodwork.
  • Splinters from cheap plywood hurt like a b*stard.
  • Drilling bits of aluminium too fast makes them mildly weld to the drill bit and spin around cutting parts of your fingers

I’m going to be trying to use this blog as a build log as I go along with the hope of writing it up as an instructable when I’m done. I’ll also post some theory behind how the scanner works once the physical build is finished.

Leave a Reply

